Post Graduation

I have managed to graduate, and earned a degree in Latin and a degree in Greek. I somehow managed to earn departmental honors in both. However, my academic life is far from over. I’ve set some goals for myself over the summer, as my graduate classes don’t start until the end of September. On the one hand, that seems like a terribly long time to wait, but on the other hand, it is an opportunity to read and learn more. I will probably be very well-prepared to start my classes, especially if I have managed to plow through a considerable portion of my reading list. That will certainly be an interesting adventure.

Now that I’ve brought to a state of total inertia schedule-wise, I have been reading through the Iliad in Greek. I’m almost finished with Book 2, which is probably the longest and most tedious of the books. I decided not to skip the catalog of ships and men, otherwise I could have moved onto Book 3 by now. I also started rereading the Aeneid for the second time, while trying to finish up the first book of Caesar’s Gallic War.

I spent several hours yesterday working on German as well. I happen to have a copy of Kafka’s The Metamorphosis in German which I hope to be proficient enough to read by the end of the summer. I should also brush up my French while I’m at it. I have a lot yet to learn, and will document at least a part of the process. I’ve decided to give my Herodotus studies a bit of a rest, in the hopes that I can return to it later with fresh eyes. I have other things to work on in the meantime.

I am very glad to have more education in classics to look forward to. If I were not going on to graduate school, I would feel that my undergraduate education was utterly insufficient compared to what I want to know, even though I went to one of the best colleges in the US. There is so much more to learn.

Leave a Reply

