The Adventures in Classics Continue

I haven’t written since October 2016, which is around the time that I was filling out grad school applications and trying to keep up with my schoolwork. I didn’t have much time for writing blog posts. However, much has happened since then and I am excited to say that my adventures in the classical world will continue. I applied to 4 graduate programs last semester, and heard back from my first-choice school in mid-January. I’ve been offered a fellowship to attend a PhD program at the University of California Santa Barbara, which I accepted as soon as I possibly could. I haven’t heard back from the other 3 schools yet, but I know what my response to them will be.

In the meantime, I presented at the last conference of my undergraduate career. I presented my old paper on Thucydides and Counterfactuals. My presentation went well, and I enjoyed meeting some colleagues in classical scholarship.

fb_img_1485896304247

                                        Presenting at the AIA/SCS conference in Toronto, ON

The conference was very fun, for the brief time I was there. I also had the chance to meet a professor from UCSB, which was a great privilege.

Since then, I have returned to my soon-to-be alma mater, where I hack tirelessly away at my Latin and Greek, and start thinking about the next leg of my journey into classics.

It is really helpful to know that I have my next steps more-or-less figured out. The only thing that daunts me now is simply that it will be very different from being an undergraduate. But I look forward to learning even more and gaining even more skill in the languages.

I am fairly certain at this point that my focus will be historiography and narratology, because I find those areas and their intersection fascinating and I also believe there is more work to be done there. In preparation for that, I have been reading Herodotus and Thucydides on my own, trying to gain as much familiarity with those texts as I can before I begin working on them as my career focus.

There’s a lot to do, and I am very excited to get started. I can’t wait to see what 2017 will bring!

 

 

Leave a Reply

