A Moment of Reflection

The world of classical scholarship can be competitive. It takes an enormous amount of effort to keep up with your fellow students, and it takes even more effort to stay motivated.

However, it is very easy to lose sight of the precise reason why I spend so much time studying and working. Late nights writing papers, exams, competitions, grades…what does any of it even mean?

The purpose of this blog, born just over a year ago, is to keep me grounded in why I study classics.

First and foremost, I love the subject. Secondly, I enjoy sharing what I’ve learned. Thirdly, the subject is rewarding in and of itself, regardless of whether I “make it” in the world of scholarship or not. The final reason is because I would like to earn my PhD and teach someday.

Of course, I still have my lofty goals and am working towards them consistently, but the last few days have shown me that I need a reminder of why I am here and why I am doing what I do.

Here’s to many more (probably very boring) blog posts on classical topics.

Leave a Reply

